Board of Aviation Commissioners

Since 1943 the Board of Aviation Commissioners (BOAC) have owned and operated Monroe County Airport. Their mission is to provide the citizens of Monroe County with a modern and progressive airport facility, with special emphasis on safety and economy. Board of Aviation Commissioners pictured to the right.


William R. Pugh, M.D.

Term Expiration: 12/31/2027

  • President
  • Served BOAC since 2004
  • M.D. FACS
  • IU School of Medicine Graduate, 1963
  • Captain, USAF Flight Surgeon
  • Active Multi-Engine, Instrument and Commercial Pilot

Vice President

Ken Richie

Term Expiration: 12/31/2024

  • Vice President
  • BOAC Member since 2002
  • Earned MBA from IU
  • Sr. VP, Old National Bank, Bloomington


Allen Boyd

Term Expiration: 12/31/2026

  • Colonel, US Army (Retired)
  • Defense Industry Executive (Retired)
  • Collins Aerospace
  • ITT Aerospace/Defense
  • Aerospace and Electrical Engineer (Georgia Tech)
  • Senior Defense Consultant
  • Former Chief of Operations, Presidential Emergency Operations Center


Patrick Murphy

Term Expiration: 12/31/2027

  • Treasurer
  • IU Graduate
  • Recipient of “Sagamore of the Wabash”
  • Distinguished Hoosier